The Drum Major Award 2014 Recipient

Councilmember Ash Kalra

Councilmember Ash Kalra earned his seat on the San Josť City Council in the November 4, 2008 election. He represents Council District 2, which is located in the Southern region of San Josť bordering Morgan Hill. District 2 has approximately 100,000 residents, and San Josť as a whole has a population of almost 1 million, making it the 10th largest city in the nation. He has been a resident of San Josť for over 34 years and is proud to be the first Oak Grove High School graduate on the San Josť City Council. Kalra was re-elected to a second term in June 2012.

Councilmember Kalra sits on San Josť's Community and Economic Development Committee. In December of 2013, he was unanimously appointed as the chairperson of the Santa Clara County Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) Board, and is the immediate past chairperson of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD) Board. Kalra also serves on the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers (CalTrain) Board, and also serves as a member of the Santa Clara Valley Habitat Plan Liaison Group, the Association of Bay Area Governments Executive Board, the Santa Clara County Cities Association Legislative Action Committee, the Housing Trust of Santa Clara County Board, and is also currently serving on the Sister Cities International Board of Directors.

Councilmember Kalra earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Communications from the University of California, Santa Barbara and a law degree from Georgetown University. Ash is a Professor at Lincoln Law School of San Josť, where he teaches "Race and the Law," and he previously was an instructor at San Jose State University, where he taught "Law and the Black Community." For 11 years, Kalra worked as an attorney for the Santa Clara County Public Defender's Office representing indigent clients in Drug Court prior to being elected. He is the first Indian-American to be elected to the San Josť City Council. In 2012, Kalra was honored to receive the San Josť Silicon Valley NAACP Legislator of the Year Award and the Bay Area Municipal Elections Committee (BAYMEC) Straight Ally Award.